2020 Award Winners

    This is a selection of the 2020 award winners in Yakima Valley Libraries’ physical and/or digital collections – and just some of the many wonderful prizes that honor literature. If you’re an OverDrive fan, we’ve compiled a list there as well, just scroll down to “2020 Award Winners.” Keep in mind, many of these awards have been around for decades, and the American Library Association announces many of their annual awards (Newbery, Caldecott, Printz, Carnegie, etc.) around the end of January – so don’t limit yourself to this year!

    Please note: Not all of these titles are available in all formats, and some may be available only digitally because that is the only way they have been published.

    Banner with covers of six books

    Pulitzer Prizes for Letters and Drama  (Previous years)


    National Book Awards    (Previous years)


    Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction (more information & previous years)


    Booker Prize (Previous years): Shuggie Bain by Douglas Stuart

    Booker International Prize: The Discomfort of Evening by Marieke Lucas Rijneveld, translated from Dutch by Michele Hutchison

    banner with covers of six books

    Pen / Faulkner Award for Fiction: Sea Monsters by Chloe Aridjis


    Pen America Literary Awards


    Women’s Prize for Fiction: Hamnet by Maggie O’Farrell (This prize has previously been the Orange Prize and the Bailey’s Prize. For more information, visit their website.)


    PNBA Book Awards (Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association) included:


    Washington State Book Awards included:

    banner with covers of six books

    Kirkus Prize


    Los Angeles Times Book Prize


    Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature, which promotes Asian/Pacific American culture and heritage and is awarded based on literary and artistic merit by the Asian-Pacific American Librarians Association.


    Arab American Book Awards


    National Jewish Book Award Winners


    2020 Bancroft Prizes in American History and Diplomacy


    Black Caucus of the American Library Association Literary Awards


    Christy Awards for Christian Fiction


    Stonewall Book Award

    • Barbara Gittings Literature Award: Cantoras by Carolina De Robertis
    • Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award: How We Fight for Our Lives: A Memoir by Saeed Jones
    • Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award given annually to English-language children’s and young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience: The Black Flamingo written by Dean Atta with illustrations by Anshika Khullar & When Aidan Became a Brother written by Kyle Lukoff and illustrated by Kaylani Juanita


    Lambda Literary Awards

    banner with covers of six books

    Locus Awards, presented by the science fiction and fantasy magazine Locus. Often presented in Seattle.


    Hugo Awards, given at the annual World Science Fiction Convention (previous years)


    Nebula Awards, presented by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America  (more information)


    Bram Stoker Awards, presented by the Horror Writers Association  (more information)


    Silver Spur Awards, presented by the Western Writers of America  (more information)


    Edgar Awards, presented by the Mystery Writers of America  (more information)


    The Romance Writers of America is the process of transitioning to a new award, the Vivians, which will be given in 2021.


    The Ripped Bodice Awards for Excellence in Romantic Fiction


    International Thriller Writers Awards (more information and previous years)


    Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards


    banner with covers of six books

    Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults: Dig by A.S. King


    William C. Morris Award (debut author for teens): The Field Guide to the North American Teenager by Ben Philippe


    John Newbery Medal for most outstanding contribution to children’s literature: New Kid by Jerry Craft


    Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience:


    Coretta Scott King Awards, given for outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values


    Pura Belpré Awards honor a Latinx writer and illustrator whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience


    American Indian Youth Literature Awards

    • Best Picture Book: Bowwow Powwow: Bagosenjige-niimi’idim by Brenda J. Child (Red Lake Ojibwe), translated into Ojibwe by Gordon Jourdain (Lac La Croix First Nation), and illustrated by Jonathan Thunder (Red Lake Ojibwe)
    • Best Middle Grade Book: Indian No More written by Charlene Willing McManis (Umpqua/Confederated Tribes of Grande Ronde) with Traci Sorell (Cherokee)
    • Young Adult Book: Hearts Unbroken by Cynthia Leitich Smith (Muscogee)


    YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults: Free Lunch by Rex Ogle


    The Sydney Taylor Book Award is presented annually to outstanding books for children and teens that authentically portray the Jewish experience by the Association of Jewish Libraries.


    Walter Dean Myers Award for Outstanding Children’s Literature, awarded by the We Need Diverse Books organization