About Us

Mission Statement

“Yakima Valley Libraries: together we empower, inspire, and connect”

Located in the beautiful, agricultural Yakima County in south-central Washington State, Yakima Valley Libraries serves the entire county with the exception of the City of Grandview. With 4,296 square miles, Yakima County is the second largest in the state. Yakima Valley Libraries is a junior taxing district that is primarily supported through local property taxes and provides quality library services to the general public.

The rural county library district was formed in 1945 and is now comprised of a central library and 15 community libraries located throughout Yakima County. All towns or cities, with the exception of the City of Grandview, are either annexed to or contracted with Yakima Valley Libraries for library services. Annexed cities include Harrah, Moxee, Selah, Yakima (Yakima Central, Southeast, and West Valley), Sunnyside, Toppenish, Wapato, Union  Gap, and Zillah. Contracting cities include Mabton, Granger, Tieton, and Naches. Rural county locations include Buena and Terrace Heights. Yakima Valley Libraries currently serves over 245,000 people in Yakima County.

In 2023 the library district was open a total of 37,708 hours and served 361,924 combined visitors. We circulated over 803,731 items and hosted 39,408 computer appointments using the 128 Internet computers available to the public.

Library services in the Yakima Valley began in 1889. Citizens in one small community hoped to enrich their lives by providing a public reading room. In time, that same hope spread throughout the valley. Growing towns that established schools and libraries boasted of the culture and education they could offer new settlers and investors. Those early libraries were the seeds that became Yakima Valley Libraries.


2015 – Sunnyside Community Library remodel.

2015 – Selah Community Library purchase of building.

2012 – The Richard E. Ostrander West Valley Community Library opens August, 13, 2012.

2012 – Yakima Central Library major remodel completed

2012 – Buena Friends of the Library reopen the Buena branch of Yakima Valley Libraries in a beautiful new building.

2011 – Groundbreaking for new West Valley Library

2011 – Yakima Valley Library Awards Building Contract to Blew’s Construction

2011 – Invitation to Bid September 7, 2011

2011 – Proposed Project Schedule June 6, 2011

2011 – Questions for West Valley SOQ, January 12, 2011

2010 – Selah Library moves to newer, larger building at 106 S 2nd Street.

2006 – Yakima library annexed to regional library

2005 – Selah City Library joins with regional library

2004 – Sunnyside Library annexed

2001 – Toppenish library annexed

2000 – Wapato library moves to new location