Book on CD

    These titles were recently added to the collection of Yakima Valley Libraries

    It all comes down to this [audiobook]

    Fowler, Therese, author.

    A warm, keenly perceptive novel of sisterhood, heartbreak, home, and what it takes to remake a life at its halfway point, for fans of Ann Patchett and Emma Straub.....

    View in Catalog


    Muggsy [audiobook] : my life from a kid in the projects to the Godfather of Smallball

    Bogues, Tyrone, 1965- author.

    Conversational and clear-sighted, this autobiography is a story of uncompromising vision and fleet-footed determination during a golden era for the NBA.....

    View in Catalog


    The Apollo murders [audiobook]

    Hadfield, Chris, 1959- author.

    1973: a final, top-secret mission to the Moon. As Russian and American crews sprint for a secret bounty hidden away on the lunar surface, old rivalries blossom and the political stakes are stretched to breaking point back on Earth. Houston flight controller Kazimieras "Kaz" Zemeckis must do all he can to keep the NASA crew together, while staying one step ahead of his Soviet rivals. But not everyone on board Apollo 18 is quite who they appear to be. The White House and the Kremlin can only watch as their astronauts collide on the lunar surface, far beyond the reach of law or rescue.....

    View in Catalog


    The messy lives of book people [audiobook]

    Patrick, Phaedra, author.

    Landing her personal hero and mega-best-selling author Essie Starling as a client, housecleaner Liv Green forms an unlikely friendship with this infamous recluse, but when Essie suddenly dies, leaving her an astonishing last wish, Liv discovers a connection between them that changes Liv's own life story forever.....

    View in Catalog


    Overboard [audiobook]

    Paretsky, Sara, author, narrator.

    On her way home from an all-night surveillance job, V.I. Warshawski is led by her dogs on a mad chase that ends when they discover a badly injured teen hiding in the rocks along Lake Michigan. The girl only regains consciousness long enough to utter one enigmatic word. V.I. helps bring her to a hospital, but not long after, she vanishes before anyone can discover her identity. As V.I. attempts to find her, the detective uncovers an ugly consortium of Chicago powerbrokers and mobsters who are prepared to kill the girl. And now V.I.2s own life is in jeopardy as well.....

    View in Catalog


    Sparring partners [audiobook]

    Grisham, John, author, narrator.

    Jake Brigance returns, a death-row inmate makes an unusual final request, and a dysfunctional legal family gets their day in court. These are just a few of the stories you'll encounter in these three novellas.....

    View in Catalog


    Nightwork [audiobook] : a novel

    Roberts, Nora, author.

    Harry Booth started stealing at nine to keep a roof over his ailing mother's head. When his mother finally succumbed to cancer, he left Chicago, but kept up his nightwork. He cannot afford to attract attention or get attached. Still, he can't help letting his guard down when he meets Miranda Emerson. But the powerful bond between them cannot last, because not all thieves follow Harry's code of honor. After Harry takes a lucrative job commissioned by Carter LaPorte, LaPorte sees a tool he can use, and decides he wants to own Harry. The man is a predator, and when he strongarms Harry into robbing a Baltimore museum, Harry abandons Miranda cruelly, with no explanation, and disappears. But no matter what name he uses or where he goes, LaPorte casts a shadow over Harry's life. To truly free himself, he must face down his enemy once and for all. Only then can he hope to possess something more valuable than anything he has ever stolen.....

    View in Catalog


    48 hours to kill [audiobook] : a thriller

    Bourelle, Andrew, author.

    A prison inmate on furlough learns a terrible secret about his sister2s mysterious death, and descends back into the criminal underworld to uncover the truth.....

    View in Catalog


    The sacred bridge [audiobook]

    Hillerman, Anne, 1949- author.

    Container.....

    View in Catalog


    Remarkably bright creatures [audiobook] : a novel

    Van Pelt, Shelby, author.

    After Tova Sullivan's husband died, she began working the night shift at the Sowell Bay Aquarium, mopping floors and tidying up. Keeping busy has always helped her cope, which she's been doing since her eighteen-year-old son, Erik, mysteriously vanished on a boat in Puget Sound over thirty years ago. Tova becomes acquainted with curmudgeonly Marcellus, a giant Pacific octopus living at the aquarium. Marcellus knows more than anyone can imagine but wouldn't dream of lifting one of his eight arms for his human captors, until he forms a remarkable friendship with Tova. Ever the detective, Marcellus deduces what happened the night Tova's son disappeared. And now Marcellus must use every trick his old invertebrate body can muster to unearth the truth for her before it's too late.....

    View in Catalog


    The Boardwalk Bookshop [audiobook]

    Mallery, Susan, author.

    When fate brings three strangers to a charming space for lease on the California coast, the Boardwalk Bookshop is born. Part bookstore, part gift shop, part bakery, it's a dream come true for Bree, Mikki and Ashley. But while their business is thriving, their personal lives are not. Bree, wounded by brilliant but cold parents and her late husband's ultimate betrayal, has sworn to protect her heart at all costs. Even from Ashley's brother, a writer and adventurer who has inspired millions. He's the first man to see past Bree's barricades to her true self, which terrifies her. Mikki has this divorce thing all figured out, somehow, she's stayed friends with her ex and her in-laws, until a new man changes how everyone looks at her, and how she sees herself. Meanwhile, Ashley discovers that the love of her life never intends to marry. Can she live without being a wife if it means she can have everything else she's ever wanted? At sunset every Friday on the beach in front of the Boardwalk Bookshop, the three friends share a champagne toast. As their bond grows closer, they challenge one another to become the best versions of themselves in this heartachingly beautiful story of friendship, sisterhood and the transformative power of love.....

    View in Catalog


    The measure [audiobook] : a novel

    Erlick, Nikki, author.

    When every person on every continent receives a small wooden box containing the exact number of years they'll live, the world is thrust into a collective frenzy. Where did these boxes come from?....

    View in Catalog


    The island [audiobook]

    McKinty, Adrian, author.

    After moving from a small country town to Seattle, Heather Baxter marries Tom, a widowed doctor with a young son and teenage daughter. A working vacation overseas seems like the perfect way to bring the new family together, but once they're deep in the Australian outback, the jet-lagged and exhausted kids are so over their new mom. When they discover remote Dutch Island, off-limits to outside visitors, the family talks their way onto the ferry, taking a chance on an adventure far from the reach of iPhones and Instagram. But as soon as they set foot on the island, which is run by a tightly knit clan of locals, everything feels wrong. Then a shocking accident propels the Baxters from an unsettling situation into an absolute nightmare.....

    View in Catalog


    The lioness [audiobook] : a novel

    Bohjalian, Chris, 1962- author.

    provided by publisher.....

    View in Catalog


    River of the gods [audiobook] : genius, courage and betrayal in the search for the source of the Nile

    Millard, Candice, author.

    "For millennia the location of the Nile River's headwaters was shrouded in mystery. In the nineteenth century, there was a frenzy of interest in ancient Egypt. At the same time, European powers sent off waves of explorations intended to map the unknown corners of the globe--and extend their colonial empires. Two British men--Richard Burton and John Hanning Speke--were sent by the Royal Geographical Society to claim the prize for England. Burton was already famous for being the first non-Muslim to travel to Mecca, disguised as an Arab chieftain. He spoke twenty-nine languages, was a decorated soldier, and literally wrote the book on sword-fighting techniques for the British Army. He was also mercurial, subtle, and an iconoclastic atheist. Speke was a young aristocrat and Army officer determined to make his mark, passionate about hunting, Burton's opposite in temperament and beliefs. From the start the two men clashed, Speke chafing under Burton's command and Burton disapproving of Speke's ignorance of the people whose lands through which they traveled. They would endure tremendous hardships, illness, and constant setbacks. Two years in, deep in the African interior, Burton became too sick to press on, but Speke did, and claimed he found the source in a great lake that he christened Lake Victoria. When they returned to England, Speke rushed to take credit, disparaging Burton. Burton disputed his claim, and Speke launched another expedition to Africa to prove it. The two became venomous enemies, with the public siding with the more charismatic Burton, to Speke's great envy. The day before they were to publicly debate, Speke shot himself. Yet there was a third man on both expeditions, his name obscured by imperial annals, whose exploits were even more extraordinary. This was Sidi Mubarak Bombay, who was enslaved and shipped from his home village in East Africa to India. When the man who purchased him died, he made his way into the local Sultan's army, and eventually traveled back to Africa, where he used his resourcefulness, linguistic prowess and raw courage to forge a living as a guide. Without his talents, it is likely that neither Englishman would have come close to the headwaters of the Nile, or perhaps even survived" -- Provided by publisher.....

    View in Catalog


    Looking for more new titles? MORE NEW Books on CD  

    Search