Teen Non-Fiction

    These titles were recently added to the collection of Yakima Valley Libraries

    Dreams from my father : a story of race and inheritance

    Obama, Barack, author.

    The son of a black African father and a white American mother searches for a workable meaning to his life as a black American. Obama retraces the migration of his mother's family to Hawaii, and then to Kenya, where he meets the African side of his family, confronts the bitter truth of his father's life, and at last reconciles his divided inheritance. -- adapted from jacket....

    View in Catalog


    Earth will survive : but we may not

    Coppens, Katie, 1979- author.

    What is Earth's history, including the history of life? Where is Earth headed, and what can we do? A middle school science teacher addresses these questions with a friendly narrative voice and a focus both on how science is done and the diverse people who do it. Women like Mary Anning and Rachel Carson get equal attention to men like James Hutton and Georges Cuvier. Present problems of the Earth discussed include not only climate change but human-caused extinctions, plastic pollution, and invasive species. A final section suggests things kids can do to make a difference, from changing their behavior as consumers to recycling, energy use, and voting.....

    View in Catalog


    Vegan cookbook for teens : 100 easy and nutritious plant-based recipes

    Musick, Barb, author.

    "Basic everyday ingredients and step-by-step recipe instructions help simplify vegan cooking so teens can gain confidence and kitchen skills that will last a lifetime"--Back cover.....

    View in Catalog


    Wild tongues can't be tamed : 15 voices from the Latinx diaspora

    A Most Anticipated Book (Refinery29, HipLatina, Publishers Weekly, Latino Book Review, and more)! Edited by The Bronx Is Reading founder Saraciea J. Fennell and featuring an all-star cast of Latinx contributors, Wild Tongues Can't Be Tamed is a ground-breaking anthology that will spark dialogue and inspire hope. In Wild Tongues Can't Be Tamed, bestselling and award-winning authors as well as up-and-coming voices interrogate the different myths and stereotypes about the Latinx diaspora. These fifteen original pieces delve into everything from ghost stories and superheroes, to memories in the kitchen and travels around the world, to addiction and grief, to identity and anti-Blackness, to finding love and speaking your truth. Full of both sorrow and joy, Wild Tongues Can't Be Tamed is an essential celebration of this rich and diverse community. The bestselling and award-winning contributors include Elizabeth Acevedo, Cristina Arreola, Ingrid Rojas Contreras, Naima Coster, Natasha Diaz, Saraciea J. Fennell, Kahlil Haywood, Zakiya Jamal, Janel Martinez, Jasminne Mendez, Meg Medina, Mark Oshiro, Julian Randall, Lilliam Rivera, and Ibi Zoboi.....

    View in Catalog


    The woman all spies fear : code breaker Elizebeth Smith Friedman and her hidden life

    Greenfield, Amy Butler, 1968- author.

    An inspiring true story, perfect for fans of Hidden Figures, about an American woman who pioneered codebreaking in WWI and WWII but was only recently recognized for her extraordinary contributions. Elizebeth Smith Friedman had a rare talent for spotting patterns and solving puzzles. These skills led her to become one of the top cryptanalysts in America during both World War I and World War II. She originally came to code breaking through her love for Shakespeare when she was hired by an eccentric millionaire to prove that Shakespeare's plays had secret messages in them. Within a year, she had learned so much about code breaking that she was a star in the making. She went on to play a major role decoding messages during WWI and WWII and also for the Coast Guard's war against smugglers. Elizebeth and her husband, William, became the top code-breaking team in the US, and she did it all at a time when most women weren't welcome in the workforce. ....

    View in Catalog


    Black birds in the sky : the story and Legacy of the 1921 Tulsa Race Massacre

    Colbert, Brandy, author.

    "In the early morning of June 1, 1921, a white mob marched across the train tracks in Tulsa, Oklahoma, and into its predominantly Black Greenwood District--a thriving, affluent neighborhood known as America's Black Wall Street. They brought with them firearms, gasoline, and explosives. In a few short hours, they'd razed thirty-five square blocks to the ground, leaving hundreds dead. The Tulsa Race Massacre is one of the most devastating acts of racial violence in US history. But how did it come to pass? What exactly happened? And why are the events unknown to so many of us today? These are the questions that . . . author Brandy Colbert seeks to answer in this . . . nonfiction account of the Tulsa Race Massacre"--Provided by publisher.....

    View in Catalog


    Looking for more new titles? MORE NEW Teen Nonfiction  

    Search