Graphic Novel

    These titles were recently added to the collection of Yakima Valley Libraries

    The me you love in the dark. Vol. 1

    Young, Skottie, author.

    Writer SKOTTIE YOUNG (I HATE FAIRYLAND, DEADPOOL, STRANGE ACADEMY) and artist JORGE CORONA (NO. 1 WITH A BULLET, SUPER SONS, FEATHERS) follow up their critically acclaimed series MIDDLEWEST with a brand new haunting tale. An artist named Ro retreats from the grind of the city to an old house in a small town to find solace and inspiration without realizing the muse she finds within is not what she expected. Fans of STEPHEN KING and NEIL GAIMAN will enjoy this beautiful, dark and disturbing story of discovery, love and terror.....

    View in Catalog


    Undiscovered country. Vol. 3, Possibility

    Snyder, Scott, author.

    Our journey through a transformed America continues as our group of explorers ventures into the third Zone: POSSIBILITY, a region built on the endlessly evolving landscape of American creativity, from folklore to VR. The team will encounter bizarre transformations and amalgamations of the nation's greatest cultural achievements as they try to survive long enough to tell a story of their own.....

    View in Catalog


    Flung out of Space : inspired by the indecent adventures of Patricia Highsmith

    Ellis, Grace, author.

    A fictional and complex portrait of bestselling author Patricia Highsmith caught up in the longing that would inspire her queer classic, The Price of Salt. Flung Out of Space is both a love letter to the essential lesbian novel, The Price of Salt, and an examination of its notorious author, Patricia Highsmith. Veteran comics creators Grace Ellis and Hannah Templer have teamed up to tell this story through Highsmith's eyes--reimagining the events that inspired her to write the story that would become a foundational piece of queer literature. Flung Out of Space opens with Pat begrudgingly writing low-brow comics. A drinker, a smoker, and a hater of life, Pat knows she can do better. Her brain churns with images of the great novel she could and should be writing--what will eventually be Strangers on a Train-- which would later be adapted into a classic film by Alfred Hitchcock in 1951. At the same time, Pat, a lesbian consumed with self-loathing, is in and out of conversion therapy, leaving a trail of sexual conquests and broken hearts in her wake. However, one of those very affairs and a chance encounter in a department store give Pat the idea for her soon-to-be beloved tale of homosexual love that was the first of its kind--it gave the lesbian protagonists a happy ending. This is not just the story behind a classic queer book, but of a queer artist who was deeply flawed. It's a comic about what it was like to write comics in the 1950s, but also about what it means to be a writer at any time in history, struggling to find your voice. Author Grace Ellis contextualizes Patricia Highsmith as both an unintentional queer icon and a figure whose problematic views and noted anti-Semitism have cemented her controversial legacy. Highsmith's life imitated her art with results as devastating as the plot twists that brought her fame and fortune.....

    View in Catalog


    Norse mythology. Volume 2

    Gaiman, Neil, author.

    "In this second volume, Gaiman and Russell once more team with a legendary collection of artists to bring more Norse myths to life, including the origins of poetry and a mead that many will die for, Thor and Loki's eventful trip into the land of giants, the gods' woeful bargain that might lose them eternal life, and the beloved god Frey's journey to Valhalla and beyond to find a certain missing something.."--Provided by publisher.....

    View in Catalog


    Squeak the mouse

    Mattioli, Massimo, author, illustrator.

    An outrageously cruel cat versus a wily mouse: a rivalry as old as time, popularized by the beloved Tom and Jerry cartoons of the '40s and '50s. In the hands of renowned Italian cartoonist Massimo Mattioli, however, this classic premise is infused with a whole new perverse and anarchic energy. Laying full-on slasher horror onto wacky cartoon violence, Mattioli's characters embark on a sadistic bloodthirsty rampage, leaving a trail of mangled corpses and pools of blood in their wake. And the comic's gratuitous bloodshed is not to be overshadowed by its crude humor and over-the-top sexcapades. In sum, a tour de force of unrelenting transgression, rendered in clean line art and dazzling pastel colors. Conceived in the early '80s, Squeak the Mouse was originally serialized in the Italian underground comics magazine Frigidaire to much acclaim. This silent comic series gained notoriety in the US when customs agents seized a shipment of Mattioli's books; deemed pornographic, the work was subsequently made the subject of an obscenity trial (which was won by the publisher). Best known today as the precursor to the Itchy and Scratchy characters in The Simpsons, this cult classic comic series is finally coming back into print in a gorgeous and affordable hardcover.....

    View in Catalog


    Hellblazer : rise + fall

    Taylor, Tom, 1978- writer.

    "A wealthy man plummets from the sky and is gruesomely skewered on a church spire. Bizarrely, angel wings are attached to his back. More such deaths follow until, hallelujah, it's raining businessmen. Detective Aisha Bukhari is stumped by this strange phenomenon, until she's visited by her childhood friend, occult investigator John Constantine, who discovers a link between the falling elite and a shocking moment in his and Aisha's misspent youth. How are these killings tied to the first death on John's hands? How does this involve heaven and hell? Even if this is kind of John's fault, will Constantine be happy to let a few more rich bastards fall from the sky, like a vindictive Robin Hood? DC Black Label presents Hellblazer: Rise and Fall--an occult mystery from the all-star team of writer Tom Taylor (DCeased) and artist Darick Robertson (The Boys)! Collects all three installments of the degenerate and debauched miniseries along with a variant cover gallery and behind-the-scenes artwork."--Back cover.....

    View in Catalog


    Ten days in a mad-house

    Ricca, Brad, author.

    “I said I could and I would. And I did.” While working for Joseph Pulitzer’s newspaper in 1887, Nellie Bly began an undercover investigation into the local Women’s Lunatic Asylum on Blackwell Island. Intent on seeing what life was like on the inside, Bly fooled trained physicians into thinking she was insane—a task too easily achieved—and had herself committed. In her ten days at the asylum, Bly witnessed horrifying conditions: the food was inedible, the women were forced into labor for the staff, the nurses and doctors were cruel or indifferent, and many of the women held there had no mental disorder of any kind. Now adapted into graphic novel form by Brad​ Ricca and vividly rendered with beautiful and haunting illustrations by Courtney Sieh, Bly’s bold venture is given new life and meaning. Her fearless investigation into the living conditions at the Blackwell Asylum forever changed the field of journalism. A timely reminder to take notice of forgotten populations, Ten Days in a Mad-House warns us what happens when we look away.....

    View in Catalog


    Resonant. Vol. 2

    Andry, David, author, creator.

    Back cover.....

    View in Catalog


    You promised me darkness

    Connelly, Damián, 1980- author, illustrator.

    Approximately every 75 years, Halley's Comet orbits around the sun, and every time this happens people around the world are born with incredible abilities, special auras that grant them supernatural skills, but these very auras can also be cursed. Yuko and Sebastian, two siblings with special auras find themselves constantly on the run from an evil being, simply known as the "Anti-Everything", who feeds on these special auras, and gets stronger with each intake. This being is obsessed with these siblings auras and will not stop until he feasts on them.....

    View in Catalog


    Looking for more new titles? MORE NEW Graphic Novels  

    Search